Galatians 4:12 Brothers, I entreat you, become as I am, for I also have become as you are. You did me no wrong.


Dad-WP-Pic

Paul is begging his fellow countrymen to look at Him. He was a Pharisee of Pharisee’s a champion in the Law, He lack nothing in His zeal to please God by obeying the law. He was faithful in His Judaism, and was a convert winner. The Pharisees were  above the Sadducee s,  they  denied the resurrection. Paul is not exulting Himself, but in humility  was saying   I Paul being as you,  and by God’s Grace I  have been saved,  Then follow me I have committed my life to faith that conquers the Law and all it burdens. Follow me as I have trusted in the finish work of Christ. The law calls for heavy correction without mercy. Why do I do the things I don’t want to and why don’t I do the things I know I should do? Oh wretched man that I am, but thanks be to God and His unmerited Grace and abounding mercy, I am found in Christ.  Follow me I believe that Christ is the last sacrifice for the sins of man.  Follow me if anyone one should know the fertility of trying to gain God’s favor by work of the Law I did faithfully and to no avail.

For I am as ye are; as your very selves; I have the same love for you, you have for yourselves; I love you as I do myself;  this is the way  one should  understand  love and affection.  So brethren out of love, be as I am, and do as I do, “because I was as you are.  And by that this is the reason, that he was born a Jew, as they were, brought up in the Jewish religion, and the observation  of these things, as they had been, and yet he had relinquished them, the old has passed away.  Would have them do so likewise: or rather his intention that all things are become new, that he had been as zealous for  the ceremonial law, and all the rituals of it, as they now were; and though he was a Jew by birth, and had a Jewish education, and so  in favour of these things, yet he had renounced them all; and therefore as they who were Gentiles, and were never under obligation to them. This he says, lest they should think that he spoke out of anger and resentment, and on account of any personal affront offered to him; which leads him to take notice of their former kindness and respect to him, and which he designs as a reason why they should pay the same deference to him now as then.  Since the beginning of Galatians all Paul has done is strive for the sincerity of the  Gospel, the life changing effect it should have, and the person responsible for the change “Jesus Christ”

In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. (1John 4:9)

Gregory Lane