Galatians 5:11 But if I, brothers, still preach circumcision, why am I still being persecuted? In that case the offense of the cross has been removed.


cropped-blog-header2.jpg

Just like a progressive liberal you can hit them with the truth, they will not respond to it. True to form they accuse Paul of being double minded. You Paul a few years back preached a Jew to honor a command  by God had to be circumcised. And Paul would not deny that, Paul Himself was circumcised. They were accusing Paul of being double minded because now He claimed that circumcision was of no benefit  for salvation. The same argument could be said of baptism, I was baptized as a baby in the Lutheran Church. I now preach and teach that baptism is of no value for salvation, and I have had a few people attack me on this issue. I might note I have since had a believers baptism.The people who insist on baptism for salvation is in the same boat as those who insisted on circumcision for salvation. Man hasn’t changed ,and neither has God. God is sovereign, and man is not. God is spirit, and natural is of the flesh. This creates a great divide, God being Holy and man unholy. Only God can bridge that gap, God came to the man in the Son, because man couldn’t go to God. (Romans 3:11)  Paul states that if these human desire to be circumcised or baptised are any way conditional for salvation then the  “Cross of Crist has been removed”. When you add anything to the cross of Christ you remove faith, where is grace? God crushed His son on the cross for nothing.

Gregory Lane