A L S Update


Hebrews  12:6  For the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives.”

Greg smiling

When I decided to put this post together I had planned on using (Galatians 6:8)  For he that sows to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that sows to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.)  because I must confess I have sown to the flesh. And I deserve the corruption that follows. All Christians have and will sow to the flesh, yet keep in mind we are to walk according to the spirit, and in all our endeavors sow to the spirit. But I decided to use (Hebrews 12:6  For the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives.”) because I believe it encompass Galatians 6:8 and addresses two issues. Discipline involves instruction, teaching and learning. This involves  molding the character of others by reproof and admonition  of those who are disciplined. To the degree that we are disciplined and the duration is up to the Father. But most assuredly it is done in Love. It is an honor and a blessing to be disciplined, by a Sovereign God who inhabits all wisdom and knowledge. It is better to be in the hand of a Disciplining loving God than to be patted on the back by the world. The parent that does not discipline their child does not love them. In the case of discipline it usually isn’t for sowing to the flesh, rather for instruction in righteousness.  By God’s grace He saved us and it is for our own good that He disciplines us and conforms us to the image of Christ.

The other issue this verse bring up is Chastisement; which literally means to scourge and implies punishment. This is the result of sowing to the flesh, the corruption of the flesh. Between to the two issues  discipline, and chastisement I can never be sure but I feel I am being chastised  (scourging) because I have willfully sown to the flesh. This may not be the case. Regardless of the reason, I feel comforted know my God loves me so much that He would not leave in a rebellious state. He knows I am prone to wander yet he still has unconditional love for me. But if you get anything out of this message it should be to walk after the Spirit and sow to the flesh. I would beg you if you are living in sin Christian stop! The corruption of the flesh  is a trying fire. God is good and loving and does  what is necessary to conform us to Christ. So think hard when temptation embraces you, you can sow to the flesh and reap corruption or sow to the Spirit and reap life abundantly. I will close with this if you are a true Child of God and you are in for the fight you will be Chastised or disciplined, but through if you respond to God and plead for mercy your life will be changed you will never feel closer to God then when He has chastised you then wraps His loving arms around you. And if it is genuine God will be glorified there can be no other end result.

A quick update as to where My condition is; I have started losing my left hand, there is an exercise you can try. Take your  right hand and touch the tips of your fingers  with your thumb, called playing the piano. Seems like a simple task. On my left hand I can only touch my pointer finger most of the time .  Sometimes I can touch all the finger on my left hand,  it comes and goes . I have to use a wheel chair if I am on my feet very long an limited to how far I can walk without getting tired. So I would still say I use all my extremities on a limited basis. Isn’t God good? I am becoming somewhat of a recluse, I spend a lot of time in Bedroom/ Office just to have the quiet atmosphere, I can no longer tolerate noise. Even high adventure intense movies affect me, I start feeling agitated and my slobber increases. I very seldom go anywhere in a car, you would not believe how much your muscle system compensates for the bumps and turns, that you probably don’t pay attention to. With my muscular system deteriorating my bumps and turn are magnified. A six mile ride to Wal-Mart wears me out. I was getting enough water, I was so concerned with calories anything I put in my tube had to add weight. I became tired and my temper had a short fuse, and I slept all the time and did not feel like doing anything, now after increasing my water intake to 36 to 48 oz. A day I am feeling much better. Although I have to start my day at 4:00 in the morning to get all I need down my tube. Now to all those who have expressed their love and encouragement; You will never know nor can I express how much it means to me, I have never felt this close to God since I have been a Christian.  Grace and Peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

God takes the most eminent and choicest of His servants for the choicest and most eminent afflictions. They who have received most grace from God are able to bear most afflictions from God. Affliction does not hit the saint by chance, but by direction. God does not draw His bow at a venture. Every one of His arrows goes upon a special errand and touches no breast but his against whom it is sent. It is not only the grace, but the glory of a believer when we can stand and take affliction quietly.
–Joseph Caryl

Gregory Lane