The Reason for the Season


nightlightblogdotcom

I know a person who always uses the slogan “Jesus is the reason for the season” this time of year.  I appreciate the sentiment, trying to draw attention back to the reason we celebrate Christmas and to get it away from all the sentimentality of “twas the night before Christmas,” etc., etc. Now that we’ve gotten past “Black Thursday” and “Black Friday,” and are preparing to enter “Black December,” with its incessant advertising and programming to get us into “the holiday spirit,” perhaps it’s time to look at the slogan again.

By the way, if Christmas is such a wonderful time, why is everybody always so glad when it’s over?  Forgive me if I sound like the Grinch, but I have no particular fondness for all that Christmas has become.  I was really upset to see the first Christmas advertising two weeks before Thanksgiving.  They used at least to wait…

View original post 355 more words